Dizzee Rascal: Don’t Call Him Rude Boy

This is like a picture of Che Guevara wearing a Che Guevara shirt, except it's Dizzee Rascal wearing a Dizzee Rascal shirt.
This is like a picture of Che Guevara wearing a Che Guevara shirt, except it's Dizzee Rascal wearing a Dizzee Rascal shirt.

Dizzee Rascal will probably never make more than a few ripples on this (American) side of the pond, but in the UK, he’s kinda like a big deal. He won the Mercury in 2003 and hasn’t paused since. The Guardian recently called him “Britain’s first urban superstar.”

Uh, is urban a codeword for black? Race politics in other countries are sometimes beyond me. Maybe I see things that aren’t there; maybe urban is simply an appropriate descriptor for grime. But I’m not sure.

I was hooked at “Fix Up, Look Sharp.” Though it’s embarrassing to admit, I liked Dizzee Rascal and The Streets before I liked Jay-Z or NaS. I care not divulge all the particulars concerning why that might have been, but I will hint that it might have had something to do with shameless anglophilia.

Last month in the UK, Dizzee’s fourth album Tongue N’ Cheek was released. I’ve been obsessed with “Dance Wiv Me,” the album’s first single, since I heard it bumpin’ in a Forever 21 last spring. Yeah, I know.

Last week I heard “Bonkers,” which is indeed pretty bonkers, as heavily distorted guitars (chainsaws!?!?) assault your ears in much the same way they would on a Justice track.

I am really bad at knowing how to download things on the Internet, and I also don’t like buying music from virtual stores, so how am I going to get to hear this entire album? It promises to be Dizzee’s most dance-friendly, which suits me just fine. Any tips?

In Dizzee related news, a one time collaborator/all-time crazy-town electro duo Basement Jaxx are coming to Chicago on November 6th! They will be playing only 6 blocks from my house, and the show costs a third of what Kylie’s show recently cost at the same venue. See you there?

2 thoughts on “Dizzee Rascal: Don’t Call Him Rude Boy

  1. Yo Anna,

    Here’s a link to the new album:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?ytviztjzfqz

    It’s a .rar file, which is like a zip file, you’ll have to open it using winrar or rarzilla or some such thing. Your computer might have that already. Then you’ll have all the files. Hope I don’t get sued. Also, I gave this link to Andrew. It’s our old band digitally remastered in the spirit of those Beatles re-releases:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=3244616d64f7bd88ab1eab3e9fa335ca40600102dfcf3782

    How’s that for some late decade nostalgia?

  2. Yay! Nigel, thank you–for both links, haha. I DO WANT TO HAVE OUR MOZ COVER BAND and would like to go in with you on that Fulton Market practice space… Let’s chat details this weekend over beers, eh?

Leave a Reply

