Kelis Asks Basement Jaxx to Kiss Her When She Wakes Up

My lady looks nice but what the hell am I wearing?!?#()#*&$*--Nasir
My lady looks nice but what the hell am I wearing?!?#()#*&$*--Nasir

Earlier this year, when I heard Nas had been ordered by a court to pay child support for he and Kelis’ baby, I think I fell out of my chair. He’s a millionaire; he can clearly afford to pay for child support. Why would he deny Kelis and Knight Jones some money? In the end, he got his comeuppance, cuz he was ordered to pay 45 grand each month in child and spousal support. That is twice as much as I make in year. But he’s a big rap star, and all Kelis has is her pride, her milkshakes, and a new Basement Jaxx song.

You know, I worry about Kelis. Not because I think she’s not self-sufficient–quite the opposite, if her swagger is any testament–but because I haven’t seen her elegantly flicking her wrists in a while.

But then she reappeared, perhaps for the first time since the birth of her son Knight. (Sorry, I wanted to link Knight, but he has not yet been revealed to the public.) She guests on the first song on Basement Jaxx’s Scars, on the song “Scars,” (listen!) and the symbolic associations being made here make me somewhat uncomfortable and sad.

Remember when she was on songs called “Bossy?” Maybe 2010 will hold something good? I hope.

Leave a Reply

